

San Luis Obispo Local Agency Formation Commission

COMMISSIONERS

Chair MARSHALL OCHYLSKI Special District Member

> Vice-Chair STEVE GREGORY City Member

DEBBIE ARNOLD
County Member

JIMMY PAULDING
County Member

ROBERT ENNS
Special District Member

ED WAAGE City Member

HEATHER JENSEN
Public Member

ALTERNATES

Dawn Ortiz-Legg County Member

ED EBY
Special District Member

CARLA WIXOM
City Member

David Watson Public Member

STAFF

ROB FITZROY
Executive Officer

IMELDA MARQUEZ-VAWTER

Analyst

Morgan Bing Clerk Analyst

BRIAN A. PIERIK Legal Counsel TO: MEMBERS OF THE COMMISSION

FROM: ROB FITZROY, EXECUTIVE OFFICER

DATE: MAY 16, 2024

SUBJECT: AUTHORIZE RELEASE OF REQUEST FOR PROPOSAL FOR LEGAL

COUNSEL

RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended that the Commission consider taking the following action:

Action: Motion to authorize the Executive Officer to issue a Request for Proposal for Legal Services.

OVERVIEW

In November 2018, the Commission appointed the law firm of Burke, Williams & Sorensen, LLP to provide legal services to the Commission and Brian Pierik of the Burke firm was designated as Legal Counsel.

Brian Pierik is reducing the scope of his legal practice and, consequently, the Commission will need to appoint a new law firm to provide legal services to the Commission.

The recommendation is for the Commission to authorize the Executive Officer to issue a Request for Proposal for Legal Counsel Services. Mr. Pierik and the Burke firm shall continue to provide legal services to the Commission until another law firm has been appointed.