

SAN LUIS OBISPO LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION MARCH 17, 2022, MEETING MINUTES

Call to Order

The San Luis Obispo Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) meeting was called to order at 9:06 a.m. on Thursday, March 17, 2022, by Chairperson Ed Waage pursuant to the COVID-19 provisions of the Governor's Executive Order AB 361.

Roll Call

Present: Chairperson Ed Waage, Vice-Chair Debbie Arnold, Commissioners Lynn Compton,

Robert Enns, Steve Gregory, Heather Jensen, Marshall Ochylski and Alternate

Commissioners Ed Eby, Dawn Ortiz-Legg, and David Watson

Absent: Alternate Commissioner Charles Bourbeau

Staff: Rob Fitzroy, LAFCO Executive Officer

Brian Pierik, LAFCO Legal Counsel Imelda Marquez, LAFCO Analyst

Approval of the Minutes: January 20, 2022

Chairperson Waage announced the consideration of approval for the January 20, 2022, Regular Meeting Minutes.

Chairperson Waage asked if any written or live non-agenda public comment requests were received.

Ms. Marquez reported that no written or live public comments were received.

Chairperson Waage closed public comment and asked for Commissioner comments or a motion to approve the Minutes.

Commissioner Ochylski motioned to approve the minutes.

Commissioner Compton seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioners Ochylski, Compton, Enns, Gregory, Jensen, Arnold, and

Chairperson Waage

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion was passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

Non-Agenda Public Comments

Chairperson Waage asked if any written or live non-agenda public comment requests were received.

Ms. Marquez reported that no written or live public comments were received.

Regular Matters

A-1: Resolution Regarding Commission Meetings Held by Teleconference as Provided by AB 361 (Recommend Review and Approve)

Chairperson Waage asked if any written or live non-agenda public comment requests were received.

Seeing none, Chairperson Waage closed public comment and asked for a motion.

Commissioner Gregory motioned to approve the resolution.

Commissioner Ochylski seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioners Gregory, Ochylski, Compton, Enns, Jensen, Arnold, and

Chairperson Waage

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion was passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

Outside User Agreement between City of Pismo Beach and Coastal Christian School A-2: (Emergency Water) LAFCO File No. 1-O-22 (Recommend Review and Approve)

Mr. Fitzroy presented the item.

Chairperson Waage opened the item for Commissioner comments or questions, hearing none.

Chairperson Waage asked if any written or live comments from the public were received.

Ms. Marquez reported that there were no submitted or live public comment requests.

Chairperson Waage asked for any Commissioner questions or a motion.

Commissioner Arnold made a motion to approve staff recommendation for action 1.

Commissioner Gregory seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioners Arnold, Gregory, Compton, Enns, Jensen, Ochylski, and

Chairperson Waage

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

Chairperson Waage asked for a motion for action 2 to approve the resolution.

Commissioner Gregory made a motion to approve staff recommendation for action 2.

Commissioner Enns seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioners Gregory, Enns, Compton, Jensen, Ochylski, Arnold, and

Chairperson Waage

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The two motions were passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

A-3: California Association of Local Agency Formation Commissions (CALAFCO) Legislative

Update and Letter of Support (Recommend Review and Approve)

Mr. Fitzroy presented the item.

Chairperson Waage opened the item for Commissioner comments or questions, hearing none.

Chairperson Waage asked if any written or live comments from the public were received.

Ms. Marquez reported that there were no submitted or live public comment requests.

Chairperson Waage asked for any Commissioner questions or a motion.

Commissioner Arnold made a motion to approve staff recommendation.

Commissioner Compton seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioners Arnold, Compton, Enns, Gregory, Jensen, Ochylski, and

Chairperson Waage

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

Informational Matters

B-1: Receive Notice of Submittal for Petition of Application for Annexation #12 to County

Service Area 18 - LAFCO File No. 1-R-22 (Receive and File)

Ms. Marquez presented the item.

Chairperson Waage opened the item for Commissioner comments, hearing none.

Chairperson Waage asked if any written or live comments from the public were received.

Ms. Marquez reported that there were no submitted or live public comment requests.

Chairperson Waage asked for any Commissioner questions or a motion.

Commissioner Compton made a motion to receive and file the item.

Commissioner Arnold seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioners Compton, Arnold, Enns, Gregory, Jensen, Ochylski, and

Chairperson Waage

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The item was received and filed with a unanimous roll call vote.

Commissioner Comments: Chairperson Waage and Commissioner Gregory asked for

clarification on procedures to take with in-person versus

virtual meetings.

<u>Legal Counsel Comments:</u> None

Executive Officer Comments: Mr. Fitzroy welcomed new members onto the

Commission, announced updates on meeting procedures,

the new soon-to-come website, Commissioner Elections, Dana Reserve Annexation study session, and the Clerk position. As well as thank Ms. Marquez for her contribution to the organization.

<u>Adjournment:</u> With no further business before the Commission, the meeting adjourned at 9:42 a.m. until the next meeting of the Commission pursuant to the COVID-19 provisions of the Governor's Executive Order AB 361.

Respectfully submitted, Imelda Marquez, LAFCO Analyst