

SAN LUIS OBISPO LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION MAY 19, 2022, MEETING MINUTES

Call to Order

The San Luis Obispo Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. on Thursday, May 19, 2022, by Chairperson Ed Waage pursuant to the COVID-19 provisions of the Governor's Executive Order AB 361.

Roll Call

Present: Chairperson Ed Waage, Vice-Chair Debbie Arnold, Commissioners Lynn Compton,

Robert Enns, Steve Gregory, Heather Jensen, and Alternate Commissioner Ed Eby

Absent: Commissioner Marshall Ochylski, and Alternate Commissioners Charles Bourbeau,

Dawn Ortiz-Legg, and David Watson

Staff: Rob Fitzroy, LAFCO Executive Officer

Brian Pierik, LAFCO Legal Counsel Imelda Marquez, LAFCO Analyst

Approval of the Minutes: April 21, 2022

Chairperson Waage announced the consideration of approval for the April 21, 2022, Regular Meeting Minutes.

Chairperson Waage asked if any written or live non-agenda public comment requests were received.

Ms. Marquez reported that no written or live public comments were received.

Chairperson Waage closed public comment and asked for Commissioner comments or a motion to approve the Minutes.

Commissioner Compton motioned to approve the minutes.

Commissioner Enns seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioners Compton, Enns, Gregory, Jensen, Eby, Vice-Chair Arnold, and

Chairperson Waage

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion was passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

Non-Agenda Public Comments

Chairperson Waage asked if any written or live non-agenda public comment requests were received.

Ms. Marquez reported that no written or live public comments were received.

Consent Agenda

A-1: Resolution Regarding Commission Meetings Held by Teleconference as Provided by AB 361 (Recommend Review and Approve)

Chairperson Waage asked if any Commissioner would wish to pull an item from the consent agenda.

Seeing none, **Chairperson Waage** asked for any written or live non-agenda public comment requests.

Ms. Marquez reported that no written or live public comments were received.

Chairperson Waage closed public comment and asked for Commissioner motion to approve the Consent Agenda items.

Commissioner Gregory motioned to approve the items on consent.

Commissioner Compton seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioners Gregory, Compton, Enns, Jensen, Eby, Vice-Chair Arnold, and

Chairperson Waage

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion was passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

Regular Matters

B-1: Final Fiscal Year 2022-23 Budget and Work Plan (Recommend Review and Approve)

Mr. Fitzroy presented the item.

Chairperson Waage opened the item for Commissioner questions, hearing none.

Chairperson Waage asked if any written or live non-agenda public comment requests were received.

Seeing none, Chairperson Waage closed public comment.

Chairperson Waage asked for additional comments or motion to approve the staff recommendation with one roll call vote for all actions.

Vice-Chair Arnold motioned to approve staff recommendation.

Commissioner Compton seconded the motion.

AYES: Vice-Chair Arnold, Commissioners Compton, Enns, Gregory, Jensen, Eby, and

Chairperson Waage

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion was passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

B-2: LAFCO File 1-R-22: Annexation #12 to County Service Area 18 (Windmill Way) (Recommended Review and Approve)

Ms. Marquez presented the item.

Chairperson Waage opened the item for Commissioner questions, hearing none.

Chairperson Waage opened the item for applicant comment, hearing none.

Chairperson Waage asked if any written or live non-agenda public comment requests were received.

Seeing none, Chairperson Waage closed public comment.

Chairperson Waage asked for additional comments and thanked Ms. Marquez for her work.

Chairperson Waage asked for a motion to approve the first action which finds that the Mitigated Negative Declaration adopted by the County of San Luis Obispo was reviewed, considered and determined to be adequate for purposes specified in Section 15096 of the CEQA Guidelines and for use in considering approval of the proposed annexation.

Vice-Chair Arnold motioned to approve the first action.

Commissioner Gregory seconded the motion.

AYES: Vice-Chair Arnold, Commissioners Gregory, Compton, Enns, Jensen, Eby, and

Chairperson Waage

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

Chairperson Waage asked for a motion to approve the second action to waive protest

proceedings.

Vice-Chair Arnold motioned to approve the second action.

Commissioner Gregory seconded the motion.

AYES: Vice-Chair Arnold, Commissioners Gregory, Compton, Enns, Jensen, Eby, and

Chairperson Waage

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

Chairperson Waage asked for a motion to approve the third action to conditionally approve, by resolution, the proposed Annexation to County Service Area 18.

Vice-Chair Arnold motioned to approve the third action.

Commissioner Gregory seconded the motion.

AYES: Vice-Chair Arnold, Commissioners Gregory, Compton, Enns, Jensen, Eby, and

Chairperson Waage

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The three motions were passed with a unanimous roll call votes.

Commissioner Comments: Vice-Chair Arnold thanked Ms. Marquez for her

presentation and asked if the July 21st meeting will be

held in person.

<u>Legal Counsel Comments:</u> None

Executive Officer Comments: Mr. Fitzroy provided updates on the special district

member election. Stated the meeting on Thursday, June 16th will likely be cancelled and announced plans for the Dana Preserve Study Session to be held during the meeting on Thursday, July 21st. Followed by updates on the Clerk Analyst position and the new website.

<u>Adjournment:</u> With no further business before the Commission, the meeting adjourned at 9:27 a.m. until the next meeting of the Commission pursuant to the COVID-19 provisions of the Governor's Executive Order AB 361.

Respectfully submitted, Morgan Bing, LAFCO Clerk Analyst