

SAN LUIS OBISPO LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION AUGUST 17, 2023, MEETING MINUTES

Call to Order

The San Luis Obispo Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. on Thursday, August 17, 2023, by Chairperson Arnold in the Board of Supervisors Chambers at the County Government Center, 1055 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93408.

Pledge of Allegiance

Roll Call

- **Present**: Chairperson Debbie Arnold, Commissioners Robert Enns, Heather Jensen, Jimmy Paulding, and Ed Waage, and Alternate Commissioners Ed Eby and David Watson
- Absent: Vice Chair Marshall Ochylski, Commissioner Steve Gregory, and Alternate Commissioners Charles Bourbeau and Dawn Ortiz-Legg
- Staff: Rob Fitzroy, LAFCO Executive Officer Imelda Marquez-Vawter, LAFCO Analyst Morgan Bing, LAFCO Clerk Analyst Brian Pierik, LAFCO Legal Counsel

Approval of the Minutes: May 18, 2023

Chairperson Arnold announced the consideration of approval for the May 18, 2023, Regular Meeting Minutes.

Chairperson Arnold opened the item for public comment, announcing it was closed shortly after hearing none.

Chairperson Arnold asked for Commissioner comments or a motion to approve the minutes.

Commissioner Waage motioned to approve the minutes.

Commissioner Paulding seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioners Waage, Paulding, Enns, Eby, Jensen, and Chairperson Arnold

NAYS: None ABSTAINING: None

The motion was passed.

Non-Agenda Public Comment Period

Chairperson Arnold opened the item for public comment.

Greg Grewal, resident of Creston, expressed concern regarding LAFCO's approval of the Estrella-El Pomar-Creston Water District (EPCWD), specifically Condition of Approval number 5 with regard to EPCWD's eligibility to become a member of the Paso Basin Cooperative Committee.

Chairperson Arnold closed public comment and opened the item for Commissioner questions.

Commissioner Jensen motioned to bring the discussion back as an item on a future agenda.

Chairperson Arnold seconded the motion.

Commissioner Paulding asked for clarification on the motion.

Commissioner Jensen clarified that the motion was to bring a discussion item regarding EPCWD's status as a GSA on a future agenda.

Commissioner Paulding provided comment.

Mr. Pierik advised Commissioners to provide brief comment and found the motion made by **Commissioner Jensen** to be adequately stated.

Mr. Fitzroy asked for clarification on the proposed future discussion.

Chairperson Arnold suggested discussion of the conditions under which the EPCWD was formed and asked if the maker of the motion agreed.

Commissioner Jensen and **Chairperson Arnold** agreed to the modification of the motion.

Commissioner Paulding stated that this discussion is a Board of Supervisors matter and should not be discussed by the Commission.

Chairperson Arnold commented on the importance of the matter.

Mr. Pierik advised Commissioners to provide brief comment.

Commissioner Enns called for a vote.

AYES: Commissioner Jensen, Chairperson Arnold, Commissioners Enns, Eby, and Waage

NAYS: Commissioner Paulding

ABSTAINING: None

The motion was passed.

Regular Matters

A-1: LAFCO No. 1-R-23 | Sphere of Influence Amendment and Annexation No. 4 to County Service Area 12 (Weldon) (Recommend Review and Approve)

Ms. Bing presented the item.

Chairperson Arnold opened the item for Commissioner questions, hearing none.

Chairperson Arnold opened the item for public comment, announcing it was closed shortly after hearing none.

Chairperson Arnold asked for Commissioner motion to approve staff recommendation.

Commissioner Waage motioned to approve staff recommendation.

Commissioner Enns seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioners Waage, Enns, Eby, Jensen, Paulding, and Chairperson Arnold

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion was passed.

A-2: LAFCO No. 1-S-23 | Municipal Service Review and Sphere of Influence Study for Templeton Community Services District (Recommend Review and Approve)

Mr. Fitzroy and Mrs. Marquez-Vawter presented the item.

Chairperson Arnold opened the item for Commissioner questions.

Commissioner Eby asked for clarification on latent powers.

Mr. Fitzroy responded to questions and provided comment.

Mr. Pierik responded to questions and provided comment.

Commissioner Eby asked if TCSD has expressed interest in deeming their cemetery power latent.

Mr. Fitzroy responded to questions and provided comment.

Jeff Briltz, General Manager of Templeton Community Services District, responded to questions and provided comment.

Commissioner Waage commented on TCSD's funding of fire service.

Jeff Briltz provided comment.

Chairperson Arnold commended staff and TCSD for their work.

Chairperson Arnold opened the item for public comment, announcing it was closed shortly after hearing none.

Commissioner Waage motioned to approve staff recommendation.

Commissioner Paulding seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioners Waage, Paulding, Enns, Eby, Jensen, and Chairperson Arnold

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion was passed.

A-3: Policies, Procedures & By-Laws Updates (Recommend Review and Approve)

Mr. Fitzroy presented the item.

Chairperson Arnold opened the item for Commissioner questions.

Commissioner Paulding asked for clarification on the proposed change to Policy 3.2.2 (c).

Mr. Fitzroy responded to questions and provided comment.

Commissioner Paulding inquired about impacts that would occur as a result of the proposed change to Policy 3.2.2 (c).

Mr. Fitzroy responded to questions and provided comment.

Chairperson Arnold asked for clarification on staff's recommendation.

Chairperson Arnold opened the item for public comment.

Mario Iglesias, General Manager of Nipomo Community Services District, commented on the value of the proposed change to Policy 3.2.2 (c).

Commissioner Paulding expressed interest in postponing the item until the next meeting to allow time for County Counsel to review the proposed change to Policy 3.2.2 (c).

Commissioner Eby stated his support for the proposed change to Policy 3.2.2 (c).

Commissioner Eby motioned to approve staff recommendation and include the proposed clarifying language to Policy 3.2.2 (c) described in the staff report.

Commissioner Waage seconded the motion.

Commissioner Paulding explained he would be voting no on the motion as County Counsel would appreciate time to review the proposed change to Policy 3.2.2 (c).

Commissioner Waage asked **Mr. Pierik** for clarification on the proposed change to Policy 3.2.2 (c).

Mr. Pierik responded to questions and provided comment.

Chairperson Arnold called for a roll call vote.

AYES: Commissioners Eby, Waage, Enns, Jensen, and Chairperson Arnold

NAYS: Commissioner Paulding

ABSTAINING: None

The motion was passed.

A-4: Year End Budget and Fourth Quarter Work Plan Update for Fiscal Year 2022-2023 (Recommend Receive and File)

Mr. Fitzroy presented the item.

Chairperson Arnold opened the item for Commissioner questions.

Commissioner Waage inquired about pension obligations.

Mr. Fitzroy responded to questions and provided comment.

Chairperson Arnold opened the item for public comment, announcing it was closed shortly

after hearing none.

Chairperson Arnold thanked staff and announced the item was received and filed.

Commissioner Comments:	Commissioner Jensen commented on the healthy state of
	the budget. Commissioner Waage inquired about plans for
	a September meeting. Commissioner Eby announced
	Mario Iglesias' retirement and announced the new
	General Manager of NCSD, Ray Dienzo.

Legal Counsel Comments: None

Executive Officer Comments: Mr. Fitzroy provided comment regarding future commission meetings.

<u>Adjournment:</u> With no further business before the Commission, the meeting adjourned at 10:27 a.m. until the next meeting of the Commission in the Board of Supervisors Chambers at the County Government Center in San Luis Obispo.

Respectfully submitted, Morgan Bing, LAFCO Clerk Analyst