

San Luis Obispo Local Agency Formation Commission February 20, 2020

Call to Order

The San Luis Obispo Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. on Thursday, February 20, 2020, in the Board of Supervisors Chambers at the County Government Center in San Luis Obispo, California by Chairperson Tom Murray.

Pledge of Allegiance

Roll Call

Present: Chairperson Tom Murray, Commissioners Robert Enns, Roberta Fonzi, Debbie

Arnold, Ed Waage, Lynn Compton, and Alternate Commissioners Ed Eby and

Heather Jensen.

Absent: Commissioner Marshall Ochylski, Alternate Commissioners Steve Gregory and John

Peschong.

Staff: David Church, LAFCO Executive Officer

Mike Prater, LAFCO Deputy Executive Officer

Brian Pierik, LAFCO Legal Counsel

Imelda Marquez, LAFCO Commission Clerk

Approval of Minutes

Chairperson Murray opened the item to the floor for questions or comments from the Commissioners. No changes were suggested.

Commissioner Fonzi moved approval of the Minutes for January 16, 2020.

Commissioner Waage seconded the motion.

Chairperson Murray opened the item to the floor for public comment, with none being made.

AYES: Commissioners Compton, Waage, Arnold, Fonzi, Enns, and Chairperson Murray

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: Commissioner Eby

The motion was passed.

Re-Selection of 2020 Vice-Chair

Chairperson Murray asked **Mr. Church** to brief the Commission on the status of the LAFCO Vice-Chair position.

Mr. Church recommended to the Commission that **Commissioner Enns** become the new 2020 LAFCO Vice-Chair.

Commissioner Enns accepted the position.

Commissioner Waage moved approval of Commissioner Enns as LAFCO 2020 Vice-Chair.

Commissioner Fonzi seconded the motion.

Chairperson Murray opened the item to the floor for public comment, with none being made.

AYES: Commissioners Compton, Waage, Arnold, Eby, Fonzi, Enns, and Chairperson

Murray

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

Non-Agenda Public Comments: None

Consent Agenda

A-1: Section 218 Agreement with Social Security Administrator's Office (Recommend Approval)

Mr. Church briefly presented the item.

Chairperson Murray opened the item to the floor for public comment, without any.

Commissioner Arnold moved to approve the consent agenda.

Commissioner Waage seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioners Compton, Waage, Arnold, Eby, Fonzi, Enns, and Chairperson

Murray

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

Informational Matters

B-1: Study Session: City of San Luis Obispo Froom Ranch Specific Plan Annexation and Draft Environmental Impact Report (Recommend Receive and Discuss)

Mr. Church introduced the Study Session item.

Mr. Prater continued the LAFCO presentation; followed by introducing the City's representative.

Ms. Emily Creel, Contract Planner for City of San Luis Obispo, presented the item.

Commissioner Waage commented on the density of this project and how it could increase fire risk. **Mr. Waage** followed up by asking if Villaggio workers would have incentives to live in the new development and expressed concerns on traffic impacts on highway 101.

Commissioner Fonzi asked about findings that may be needed regarding Agriculture offset, questions on affordable housing, and clarification on a few other topics.

Commissioner Compton expressed her support for the Villaggio memory care program and continued to discuss potential impacts of the project.

Chairperson Murray posed questions related to affordable housing, economic impacts, and biological resources.

Commissioner Enns asked for clarification on the data presented in the report.

Commissioner Waage expressed concern on the additional access that is proposed for Irish Hills and the traffic and parking impacts that will have.

Mrs. Creel, Michael Codron and Staff responded to the Commissioners' questions.

Chairperson Murray opened the item to the floor for public comment.

Alternate Commissioner Jensen expressed interest in the referenced quarry on the Froom Ranch.

Mr. Madonna added to Commissioner Jensen's comments about the quarry.

Chairperson Murray closed public comment and asked the Commission for final comments.

Commissioner Arnold conveyed her support for this type of project.

Chairperson Murray closed the discussion and recommended the Commission go on a 10-minute break.

At 10:03 a.m. Chairperson Murray called the meeting back in order.

B-2: Status Report – Five Cities Area Sphere of Influence Update/Municipal Service Review (Recommend Receive and File)

Mr. Prater presented the item, recommending the Commission receive and file.

Chairperson Murray opened the item to the floor for public comment, without any.

Chairperson Murray added to the discussion by elaborating on the types of issues various landowners have undergone due to boundary changes.

Commissioner Fonzi asked if there were any other lots that have experienced a similar situation.

Commissioner Waage expressed appreciation for the new chapter that was added to the Municipal Service Review, regarding the Five Cities Fire Authority.

Mr. Prater and Mr. Church answered Commissioners' questions.

B-3: Status Report – LAFCO Directory of Local Agencies for 2020 (Recommend Receive and File)

Mr. Church introduced the item and Mr. Prater presented the item.

Chairperson Murray opened the item to the floor for public comment, without any.

Chairperson Murray opened the item to the floor for Commissioner comment.

Commissioners voiced their appreciation and support for the Directory and information it contained.

B-4: Status Report – Draft Regional/Affordable Housing Policy Ideas (Recommend Receive and File)

Mr. Church presented the item, recommending the item to be received and filed.

Commissioner Waage provided clarification on the intention of this item.

Commissioner Fonzi asked for clarification on the language used in the policy ideas.

Chairperson Murray asked about LAFCO's role and conveyed his outlook on the importance of the housing issue.

Commissioner Waage talked about deed restrictions and affordability.

Mr. Church addressed Commissioners' concerns and continued by providing examples.

Chairperson Murray opened the item to the floor for public comment, without any.

B-5: Transition Planning for Upcoming Fiscal Year 20-21 (Recommend Receive Oral Report by the Executive Officer and File)

Mr. Church gave an oral presentation on his announcement to retire.

Chairperson Murray opened the item to the floor for Commissioner comment.

Commissioners expressed gratitude towards **Mr. Church** and all the work he has done.

Chairperson Murray opened the item to the floor for public comment, without any.

C-1: Closed session pursuant to Government Code Section 54957(b) (1) to discuss the Public Employee/Employee Appointment - Title: Executive Officer

Mr. Pierik recommended Commissioners go into closed session.

At 11:21 a.m. Chairperson Murray called the open session back into order.

<u>Report on Closed Session</u>: LAFCO Legal Counsel, Brian Pierik, stated that there was no reportable action arising from the closed session.

Commissioner Comments: None

Legal Counsel Comments: None

Executive Officer Comments: Reported on the Incorporation presentation he gave at

Templeton CSD.

<u>Adjournment:</u> With no further business before the Commission, the meeting adjourned at 11:24 a.m. until the next meeting of the Commission in the Board of Supervisors Chambers at the County Government Center in San Luis Obispo.

Respectfully submitted, Imelda Marguez, LAFCO Commission Clerk