Skip to main content


The primary purpose of LAFCO is to ensure that government agencies provide efficient services, foster orderly growth and development, preserve agricultural lands and open space, and discourage urban sprawl. SLO LAFCO currently serves 53 local government agencies, including 7 cities and 35 special districts and 11 dependent special districts within the county. LAFCOs are responsible for, in part, establishing spheres of influence, evaluating annexations, approving the formation of districts, activating or divesting district powers, and the incorporation of cities.

Join our mailing list